Skip to main content

We have some essential maintenance on our IT systems on Saturday morning and we may not be able to take phone calls, bookings over the phone or in person. We apologise in advance for any inconvenience caused and hope to get everything back up and running as quickly as possible. 




Marta Gardolińska conductor
Michael Collins clarinet

WEBER Overture Der Freischütz
WEBER Clarinet Concerto No. 1

BRAHMS Symphony No. 1

Marta Gardolińska takes us back to the early Romantic era in this all-German programme. Der Freischütz is widely considered one of the first German operatic masterpieces, and the 10-minute overture offers a tantalising taste of the whole work.
The spotlight is then on the brilliant Michael Collins, as he demonstrates all that the clarinet has to offer in Weber’s radiant first clarinet concerto. The work was embellished by Weber’s clarinettist friend Heinrich Baermann, for whom it was written, and the result is abundant in memorable melodies.

Brahms’s Symphony No. 1 is full of in melting lyricism and dynamic expansion. Brahms looked to Beethoven for inspiration, and his own version of the Ode to Joy (taken from Beethoven’s Ninth Symphony) can be heard in the final movement.

You may also be interested in...

Philharmonia with Sheku Kanneh-Mason

Philharmonia: The Music of Harry Potter

Philharmonia: Santtu conducts Shostakovich

Philharmonia: The Tales of Scheherazade

Back to top