Paul Heaton and Jacqui Abbott will release their third album Crooked Calypso on Virgin EMI on 21st July.

Crooked Calypso boasts all the hallmarks of Heaton’s peerless song writing: songs buoyant with melody, and redolent with biting wit, but also real emotion. First single I Gotta Praise, a euphoric secular Gospel anthem, raises the roof and opens the record in style. The Lord Is A White Con, meanwhile, considers religion as an exploitative tool of empire builders, while She Got The Garden is the wittiest divorce song since D-I-V-O-R-C-E. And then there is Blackwater Banks, a gorgeous Irish waltz that the Dubliners would be proud to call their own. Some if not all of these will get an airing when Paul and Jacqui hit the road and they will also delve deep into Paul’s phenomenal 30 year back catalogue as a songwriter and will also perform classic songs by The Beautiful South and the Housemartins.

Paul Heaton, one of the UK’s most successful songwriters with some 10 million album sales under his belt, first came to public attention in the early 80s as front man of Hull-based indie poppers The Housemartins (the same group that spawned Norman ‘Fatboy Slim’ Cook), best known for their third single Happy Hour and their No 1 acapella Isley Bros cover Caravan Of Love. The Housemartins released two albums London 0 Hull 4 (1986) and The People Who Grinned Themselves To Death (1987).

In 1988 Heaton formed The Beautiful South, who released 10 hugely successful albums, but took a break in 2001 and released his first solo album Fat Chance. The Beautiful South called it a day in 2007 citing ‘musical similarities’.

Jacqui Abbott was lead vocalist in The Beautiful South from 1994 to 2000 and she sang many of their signature hits including Rotterdam, Perfect 10, Don’t Marry Her and Dream A Little Dream. Paul Heaton went on to release two further solo albums, The Cross-Eyed Rambler (2008) and Acid Country (2010). In 2011 Heaton wrote a musical called The 8th based on the Seven Deadly Sins and asked Jacqui to sing one of the parts. They have since released two acclaimed albums as a duo, What Have We Become (2014) and Wisdom, Laughter and Lines (2015).

Support is from The James Hunter Six.

View e-brochure

Other DMH News

Outdoor events plan for venue
An ambitious £570,000 package of improvement work at De Montfort Hall has been approved.


De Montfort Hall Security Update
Given recent events, we would ask customers attending forthcoming concerts and events at De Montfort Hall to please allow additional time for security checks being carried out when accessing the venue.


Gift Vouchers
Give the gift of entertainment...


Changing Places toilet facility
A changing and toilet facility has been installed at De Montfort Hall.


Hall security and bags policy
Please be aware of our restrictions on bags in the auditorium.


If you like this show also consider...

Gift Vouchers 31st Dec